Skip to main content

Below are some testimonials from customers, if you wish you can contact any of these first hand - please just ask me for details. If you are a Which? member I can also be found by recommendations on their site.

We have for many years undertaken our own decorating. Having moved house we needed a lot of decorating works to be carried out and decided to employ someone. We heard about Mark and decided to employ him. We have had no regrets and are very pleased with all aspects of his work. He is punctual, does a fully productive days work and most important of all his quality is excellent. His preparation, which we believe is very important, is above what we had anticipated. Mark has now almost completely redecorated the internal works and we would have no hesitation to recommend him to others. - Spring 2017
C & P Stoneman Dunmow


Mark has just undertaken a huge job which we would never have managed ourselves – and what a fantastic result! We had a mix of newly plastered walls and ceilings and fresh wood doors, banisters and skirts as well as our Edwardian walls and banisters. He approached the work with knowledge and expertise giving us advice and tips that we’ll certainly make use of in future projects. It was long, hard, messy work and Mark was punctual, dedicated and thorough. The hall, stairs and landings now are all married together and look just how we imagined they might. Thank you Mark for doing such a great job. - Winter 2016/17
Fiona & Warren Gt Dunmow


Mark was recommended to us by the previous owner of our house who rated him very highly. Our own experience of Mark was that of a hard working and conscientious tradesman. Mark's first job was to paint a bedroom and a lounge and he was meticulous in his preparation of the rooms and his finished work was flawless. However, Mark's skills came into their own when he spent 5 weeks repairing and painting the outside windows: he took the windows back to wood, replaced the old putty, if needed changed the hinges and repaired many of them (beyond the skills of a painter) before painting. We were amazed at the transformation and believe that he managed to save many of the windows for us.  - Jan 2016
Dr I Calder, Essex.


Being a bit of an all round 'DIYer' I have always tried where possible to do most things around the house when it comes to maintenance. Occasionally though I have had to invite a few tradesmen in to do the bits that I felt I needed help with. This hasn't always gone the way I wanted and I haven't been that good at picking the right man for the job. With Mark though, I have found the perfect tradesman for me! He is punctual and great with communication with regard to the job. He is polite and very respectful of the cleanliness of the rest of the house and where he's working. He prepares the room to a meticulous standard prior to painting which is the only way to get a quality job and provide the finish that Wow's. It is not in his nature to cut any corners or do anything the wrong way. He works incredibly hard all day long and once he starts your project he will be there until the finish, not like some tradesmen who seem to pick and choose when they turn up. Do be prepared for him to be with you a while as a good job is not a quick one, but you will get great value for money and a job that will last. As a result I have decide to get him to do one room every year from now. All in all, if you're looking for this type of tradesman then I have no hesitation in highly recommending him. You get great value for money although you will have to put up with his singing! - March 2015
Andy Sleet


Mark has done an amazing job for me. He has decorated several bedrooms which are now stunning – the finish and quality are first-class and I am absolutely delighted with the work he has done. In particular, there were a number of complicated fixes required to the walls and some steam-damaged ceiling repairs to be done in the bathroom, and it is no exaggeration to say that they have ended up looking better than when new! Mark has the deserved reputation of delivering decorating excellence and this has been borne out by the terrific job he has done for me. I have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending him. - February 2015
Dr Alan Watt
Flitch Green, Dunmow, Essex


Hi Mark, just wanted to say thank you so much for the superb job you did of decorating our kitchen. Thank goodness for your high standards and pride in what you do as we now have a finished kitchen that we are really proud of too! Thanks too for all your expert advice and guidance on types of paints and finishes and for being so neat and tidy every day! Please feel free to use this as a recommendation or pass our details to anyone who would like a reference as we are more than happy to recommend you. - March 2014
Lisa & Reece Smith


To Whom It May Concern:
Re: Mark Bullock Reference
I have used Mark numerous times over the past 10 years for both internal and external decorating. He is always reliable offering a high standard of work and is extremely thorough in his preparation. I am pleased to recommend him.
- 20th September 2013
Mr. C.Menhinick
Burniere
Priors Hall Farm
Lindsell
Essex


Considering that for many of us our home is probably one of the largest financial investments that we will ever make, it is amazing how little time and money we often feel needs to be spent on the maintenance of this investment. Time and (for the exterior) the weather shows very little mercy!

Mark has just completed the total exterior redecoration of my house and I know that for many years I will not have to worry about this again. How do I know this? Because I have seen on a day-to-day basis the standard of his work and his refusal to cut corners. At this point it is worth mentioning that many people probably feel that decorating involves slapping on a bit of paint - overlooking any repairs and preparation that needs to be done before actual painting can start. If you want gloss paintwork that shines, do not talk to Mark in those terms! He remembers his training and the importance of thorough preparation if his work is to have any chance of standing the test of time.

During the preparation stage on my house, if he discovered any repairs that needed to be made he discussed these with me and explained what needed to be done if I wanted the repairs to last. He never cuts any corners or attempted to disguise any defects Indeed, he would have been very reluctant to do so had I asked him to!
Overall, Mark is hard-working and puts in a long day He is extremely thorough and for anyone wanting to give their home a high-quality decoration I cannot think of anyone who would do a better job. Mark has worked for me before and I know that he is a real craftsman - and it shows! His work lasts and is therefore excellent value for money. - 4th August 2013

Mr. N. Minton
Gt. Dunmow
Essex


M. B. Decorating
M - Marvellous
B - Brilliant
D - Definitely recommend Mark to anyone.
I am unable to speak highly enough for work that exceeds all ones expectations.- July 2013

Elizabeth Petrie
High Roding, Essex

"Mark has just finished renovating and painting my wooden conservatory and decorating my study. He’s done a brilliant job. From start to finish Mark has been punctual, reliable and trustworthy. He has an encyclopaedic knowledge of decorating which he will generously share with you.

Yes, you can get a cheaper job done but I seriously doubt that you can get a better job done. Mark sets himself extremely high standards which he unfailingly delivers. It’s also true that he cares about your property as if it was his own. Mark is without a doubt the best decorator I’ve ever used." - September 2017
J Marter, Dunmow


"This guy is seriously good. We have been using Mark to do all of our decorating since 1995 for both internal & external work. The quality of his work is outstanding and whilst the time spent undertaking the painting/decoration is slightly more than other tradesmen, the quality is so good that it lasts for years. I have no hesitation in recommending Mark to anyone who wants top quality work!" - February 2013
S. Charles, Barnston, Great Dunmow


"M B Decorating decorated our Living room in January 2016. The work was completed to a very high standard, with great attention to detail, and we were very pleased with the end result. What is more , Mark proved to very reliable and always arrived for work when he said he would and completed a long working day in order to get the job finished on time. We were very happy to leave him unattended in our home whilst we were at work. We have no hesitation in recommending this company to others." - Jan 2016
L & J Camp


"We originally found MB Decorating through Which? Local recommendations and are glad that we did! If you are looking for a quick cheap corner cutting job look elsewhere. Mark is temperamentally incapable of working that way. His preparation is extremely thorough and this shows in the outstanding results.
As well as this his experience enables him to advise on choice of materials and colours so avoiding clients making expensive mistakes. He is not cheap but he is value for money. In 2014 Mark repainted the hall's and staircases' walls and woodwork; stripping the easily chipped old paint back to the wood and repairing the old plaster walls. We ended up with a result that is probably better than when new. At the end of 2015 he came back to paint three more rooms including repairing damage from a water leak. This was another job done thoroughly with pleasing results." January 2016

Keith Vincett


"Dear Mark, We would like to express our sincere thanks for your hard work and professionalism when undertaking the recent exterior redecoration of our house.

When you presented us with your specifications and estimate for the work in March, we thought that you would do a professional job and our initial assessment has been thoroughly vindicated. It is refreshing to see such professionalism and dedication to the quality of the finished product."
Brian and Maureen McLaughlin, Great Waltham


"Mark Bullock is a phenomenal decorator! The secret of Marks success is his attention to detail and his attitude to preparation, he refuses to compromise at any stage of the process and this is why his finished product is far superior to anything else. He learned his trade properly and applies it brilliantly! He is also punctual, trustworthy and a nice bloke with it, he is so good I have asked him to paint all of the house, in and out! I would absolutely recommend him, but only if YOU value a proper job being done!." - July, 2012.
Alan Ellis, Essex


"Mark was with us for quite a number of weeks while he completely redecorated two bedrooms, the lounge and the dining room. He was always punctual and pleasant and co-operative whilst we formed plans of how to move from room to room as the work progressed. He is a very conscientious worker who cares about the standard of his work and is not prepared to cut corners although quite prepared to discuss options as we hit various snags. He works to a very high standard and charges a realistic price for what he does and we would not hesitate to recommend him." - May, 2012
Mr & Mrs LeFevre, North End, Dunmow.


"Mark is an excellent craftsman who always takes great pride in his work and produces consistently high results in all aspects of the painting and decorating trade, both in external and internal projects. He works on his own and is easy to communicate with. He works a full day and always arrives punctually at 8.00 a.m. I would certainly employ him again and have no hesitation in recommending him to others." - April, 2012
Mr Peter Goodwin, Essex.


"Mark has decorated several rooms for us, as well as the whole of the exterior of the house. We have been very satisfied with his work and have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone looking for a good job well done." - February, 2012
Roger Miller, Great Dunmow, Essex


"We highly recommend Mark, who does a thorough and professional job. Mark has painted the outside of our house on two occasions and he cleans and prepares the rendering before painting, which most other decorators do not, hereby ensuring a long lasting finish."
W. Bottomley, Great Dunmow, Essex.


"Mark has worked for us over the past twelve years or so, ever since we observed him working on a house opposite us. We were impressed with his thoroughness.He has carried out internal and external work for us, always to a high professional standard. His painting and decorating have a lasting quality. Mark is reliable and trustworthy and we would have no hesitation in recommending him."
Mike Bloor, Essex


"Mark Bullock is a reliable and thorough decorator whose work is of a very high standard and is always finished on time. We would have no hesitation in recommending Mark for all your decorating needs inside and out"
Sandra Elliott, Chelmsford, Essex.


"Mark has decorated every room in the house over a period of 10 to 15 years. Marks work is always of excellent quality and a superb finish & has lasted for years, this is why we prefer him to more local decorators."
Dr. N. Boast, Southgate, London


"Mark has been decorating for us approximately fifteen years. He is always very punctual, polite and a tidy worker. Although more expensive compared with some other decorators, the finished result justifies the cost as the work is to a very high standard and lasts for many years."
Rosemary Jensen, Great Dunmow


"I thought I knew a bit about decorating and DIY however; when I moved in to a listed property 11 years ago I decided to seek help! Over the years, a number of decorators have worked on my house but Mark will always be my first choice.

Mark could be described as "one of the old school": he believes in the adage "a fair days work for a fair days pay"; no problem has proved insurmountable and we have encountered many in this old house and everything is always completed to a very high standard. I have learnt a lot from Mark over the years; whether working alongside him or through discussing the work as it progresses. I have no hesitation in recommending him to others."
Mr.G Holttum, Stebbing, Essex.

LinkedinTelephone: 07986 094481  |  01371 876521
Or if you prefer email us via the contact form.
M.B. Decorating Ltd.  31 Station Road  |  Great Dunmow  |  Essex  |  CM6 1EJ